top of page

BIG Update ~Blog #5

It's been a while since the previous update....

So this will be a big update!

More than a month ago, I started cleaning the park. Because the park was a bit messy and I wanted it to look more like in the movie.

These pictures was the old map without vegetation

I wanted to make the park much bigger like in the movie:

It's very difficult because the park supposed to be a very big jungle.

As a result, I had problems with performance (in the medium setting editor the fps was around 35).

I wanted to improve the performance by Layer streaming: http://docs.cryengine.com/display/SDKDOC2/Layer+Streaming

But that doesn't work on vegetation...

I had to replace many trees with normal entities and also reduce them to use layer streaming. But that's a lot of work.

I finished the half of the park when I decided to remake the whole level.

I made a new level in which I'll use layers and focus more on performance.

This is how it looks

The red lines are borders (rocks/fences/trees) of the layer. The colors are paddocks.

The red stripes are borders (ingame disabled)

don't mind the yellow man

The layer streaming makes a difference of +5 fps on my laptop but for people with low end PCs makes layer a big difference.

And next to layer streaming I found another way to improve performance, merging meshes.

In this level there are a lot of trees, they're all independent meshes and the amount of meshes (trees) makes a big impact on performance. So if I merge 10 trees in to one object / group in blender, the amount of meshes are sort of reduced.

It works, but not with the trees I want to use. I am still trying to find a way.

While I was doing that, Finalfan17 (cryshop24) was making an awesome vehicle.

I asked him if he would like to make a jeep wrangler for the project. And it looks and drives perfect. It only doesn't have sound but we're trying to find a solution. To avoid problems we changed the name of the vehicle from Jeep to Jp.

On his site are more pictures: http://cryshop24.blogspot.nl/p/jurasic-park-project.html

I will make a video of the car in the park soon.

After a lot of thinking I decided to rename the Jurassic park project 1996 to Jurassic Dream.

The name sounds a bit dreamy (I didn't want to make that joke). The name fits the project perfectly because the game is about Hammond's dream which became true.

Hammond's dream scene:

I'll make an update video soon!

Uitgelichte berichten
Recente berichten
Archief
Zoeken op tags
Er zijn nog geen tags.
Volg ons
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page